Getting Started with FtpVC :: FtpVC :: Home
  1. Don't get scared by the initial Login dialog: it's only used to specify your user name within the FtpVC environment, so that if the system is used by multiple users, there will be a way to trace changes in files to a specific user. Choose any password you like, or simply check the Use Windows User Name option, in which case no password is necessary.

  2. Create a new project in the General tab. Specify the Project name (whatever you like), Host (your FTP server), User name (your user name for the FTP server), and User password (your password for the FTP server).

  3. Go to the Startup tab and specify remote and local directories. The FtpVC directory is where the program will keep stub and history files, relative to each remote directory. Uncheck Update Status of Files After Reading Directory if your Internet connection is very slow and your directories have many files; you will need to use the Refresh or Refresh Selected commands after you are connected in order to get version control data for your files. You may want to check other tabs but the default settings should generally work fine.

  4. Connect to the server.

  5. There are two ways to get your files connected to FtpVC. The choice depends on whether you already have your files on the FTP server or not.

    1. If files are already on the server, use the Attach command to create stubs. Note that this will not transfer remote files to your local directory. You will get files when either the Get or Check Out command is executed.

    2. If files are not on the server, use the Add command to upload them and create stubs. You can add either files or directories (in which case you can also add files from their subdirectories by enabling the Recursive option). If a file you are adding already exists on the server, FtpVC will ask you if you want to overwrite it. If you answer No, the file will not be uploaded, and the stub won't be created either.

  6. Use the Get command to get your files from the server. Use the Check Out command to get files and edit them. Use the Check In command to put your saved files back on the server, or Undo Check-Out to cancel your updates and to get the previous versions of the files to your local directory.